Skip to content

Continental Ultra Sport III 700×25, 2-pack

Two Continental Ultra Sport III tires in 700×25, with a silica PureGrip compound and an E25 e-bike rating.

Continental Ultra Sport III black road bike tire, two-pack

Continental Ultra Sport III 700×25, 2-pack

Two Continental Ultra Sport III tires in 700×25, with a silica PureGrip compound and an E25 e-bike rating.

Size
700×25
Contents
2 tires
Price per tire
$25.97 — the single listing is about $27
Compound
PureGrip, activated silica
E-bike rating
E25 — assisted to 25 km/h
Puncture protection
Stated, not named
Bead type
Not stated on this listing
ETRTO
Not published
Weight
Not published
TPI
Not published
Amazon reference
B08BB2GLVL
EAN
0765376723266
  • Cheaper per tire than the single listing of the same tire
  • E25 rated, which is a statement about the carcass rather than a badge
  • Does not state the bead type, the one thing this shelf’s tag calls decisive

Best for: Replacing both tires on a road or city bike, or on an e-bike assisted to 25 km/h

Check price on Amazon

Specifications

Size
700×25
Contents
2 tires
Price per tire
$25.97 — the single listing is about $27
Compound
PureGrip, activated silica
E-bike rating
E25 — assisted to 25 km/h
Puncture protection
Stated, not named
Bead type
Not stated on this listing
ETRTO
Not published
Weight
Not published
TPI
Not published
Amazon reference
B08BB2GLVL
EAN
0765376723266

What you are getting

Two Continental Ultra Sport III tires in 700×25, with the PureGrip silica compound and an E25 e-bike rating. $51.93 the pair.

The two-pack is cheaper per tire than the single

This site already publishes the Ultra Sport III singly, at about $27. This listing is the same tire, two at a time:

listingcontentspriceper tire
Single, B082VNGXDZ1 tire≈ $27≈ $27
This one, B08BB2GLVL2 tires$51.93$25.97

A dollar a tire, which is small — but tires are replaced in pairs more often than people expect, and the rear wears roughly twice as fast as the front. Buying two means the next change is a tire you already own.

Check both listings on the day: Continental’s pack pricing moves, and the single is occasionally the better buy.

E25 is a structural rating, not a marketing badge

“E25 e-bike rating features a high quality structure with puncture protection to reduce premature wear brought about by the additional driving force.”

E25 means the tire is approved for e-bikes assisted to 25 km/h. What it describes is the carcass: a motor applies torque through the tire rather than through a leg, and the extra drive force scrubs the tread and works the bead. A tire built to take that is a tire built heavier.

Two of the three Continental tires in the American survey for this shelf carry it — this and the Ride Tour that moved to the gravel page. The Grand Prix 5000 does not.

PureGrip, which is a compound and is described

“PureGrip Compound is derived from an activated silica compound to do exactly what it says: offer exceptionally good grip and durability.”

Silica in a tread compound improves wet grip at a given hardness, which is why it is in almost every modern tire. Continental naming it is useful; what is missing is any figure — no durometer, no rolling-resistance number, no wet-braking comparison.

The GP5000 on this page uses BlackChili instead, Continental’s top compound, and publishes no figures either.

What the listing does not say, and the shelf asks for

The introduction to this page compares four things. This listing answers one and a half:

  • width and ETRTO — 700×25 is given, the ETRTO (25-622) is not
  • bead type — not stated, which is the one the shelf tag calls out: “folding or wire bead changes the weight more than the tread does”. The Ultra Sport III is sold in a folding version, and the fiche already published here says folding, 180 TPI
  • puncture belt — named on the Ride Tour as an ExtraPuncture Belt and on the GP5000 as a Vectran Breaker. Here it is “puncture protection”, unnamed, inside the E25 bullet
  • tubeless — not mentioned, so clincher with a tube

No weight is published either. The Fincci tire on this page gives 280 g (9.9 oz).

What is not published

No ETRTO, no weight, no TPI, no bead type, no named puncture belt, no pressure range. Five bullets, four of which are about character rather than construction. It is the least specified tire on this page and the cheapest per tire.

Availability

Read on the day this page was built: $52 at the American Amazon shop.

Read from Keepa on the day this page was last revised; stock and price both move without notice.

Prices quoted in this text were read on 2026-10-06. The live price is at the top of the page.

The questions riders ask

Is the two-pack worth it over the single?

Marginally, and the arithmetic is simple: $51.93 for two is $25.97 each, against about $27 for the single listing of the same tire on this site. The better argument is practical — a rear tire wears roughly twice as fast as a front, so the second tire will be wanted. Check both prices on the day, because Continental’s pack pricing moves.

Folding or wire bead?

This listing does not say, which is an odd omission on a tire sold in two bead versions. The fiche already published on this site for the single Ultra Sport III records a folding bead at 180 TPI. A folding aramid bead is lighter and packs as a spare; a wire bead is cheaper and stiffer, and the shelf tag here says the choice changes the weight more than the tread does. Confirm it on the listing before ordering if weight matters.

What does E25 actually buy?

A carcass built for motor torque. An e-bike applies drive force through the tire far more abruptly than a leg does, which scrubs tread and works the bead loose; Continental’s own wording is that the E25 structure exists "to reduce premature wear brought about by the additional driving force". It is a rating for assistance up to 25 km/h — a faster class of e-bike needs a higher one, and the Grand Prix 5000 on this page carries no e-bike rating at all.

All road tires